Here’s the Plan

So I’ve done some crazy things in my life, from jumping off a bridge onto (not into) a frozen river to riding my bike 700 miles on the highway to my grandma’s house. In the summer of 2015 I’m planning on doing something that will top all of them. I’m gonna run all the way across America from California to Maine. I’m calling this adventure Project Gump, obviously after my favorite movie Forrest Gump. In tribute to Forrest’s route, I will be running from Santa Monica Pier in California to Marshall Point Lighthouse in Maine. This is a distance of over 3,000 miles (3,130 to be exact) and I plan on doing it in 100 days. That means that I will be running over 10 5-ks per day. This brings me to why I will be doing this in 2015 and not this year. My reasons are:

  1. I already have a few things planned for this summer which I’m not going to opt out of.
  2. I’ve realized that this will take a lot of planning so by giving myself over a year I will have a well-structured plan rather than a haphazardly thrown together one.
  3. Semi-related, I want time to be able to find and connect with a good charity for this run.
  4. I will be finishing my college career in the spring of 2015 so this will be a cool “before I start real life” adventure.
  5. I’m gonna want a whole year to train up to being able to run 30 miles per day.

At this point, I am in the very early stages of planning, so don’t expect any sort of coherent plan at this point. This is just what I do know/think at this point. I know that I will need to find funding for this trip. I have already started making a list of the likely expenses, including food; both for me and a potential crew, shoes; I expect to go through five or six pairs during this, and other supplies; possibly a jogging stroller if I decide not to use a crew. I know that I would like to find a good charity to support with this. Ideally I will find a charity that advocates an active lifestyle for fun and health. I am also looking into charities for a few different diseases that I will consider. I know that I will want to connect with runners across the country in the towns that I run through. For this, I will be reaching out to running clubs in towns and cities close to my planned route and letting them know about my plans throughout the next year. Finally, I know that I want to spread the word about this as far as possible. That’s why I created this blog and a new twitter account (ProjectGump) to chronicle this great adventure.

At this point, I would love for everyone who reads this to follow both of those if you are interested in hearing about what I’m to to as far as this run is concerned. Also, If anyone has any suggestions for any charities I should look into partnering with for this run, let me know and I will try to get in contact with them. Also, If anyone has any contacts in running clubs across the country, I would love to connect with them as well. Finally, if anyone is so motivated, I would really appreciate any money that is contributed at this point. Just know that any funds contributed at this point will go towards funding the run. I would like to keep the funding for the run and donations to a charity separate so that once the run is fully funded, all donations can go only to the charity. Once I have decided on a charity partner a donation site for that will be launched. To fund the run visit http://www.gofundme.com/6bn51w.

And don’t forget to follow ProjectGump on twitter. Thanks for reading and tell your friends!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

